Habits, rabbits

This weekend I caught myself with habits from more than a year ago. (Due to a new found obsession) I don’t care if others think they are not that bad, but for me they are and at first I was quite shocked to have fallen back so much! But instead of punishing myself (because who likes that anyway?) I allowed those bad habits to stay for a short amount of time and then let them go.

Punishing myself would have had no effect at all. I’m actually thankful to have fallen back!
By allowing them to stay for an amount of time I acknowledge and address those bad habits and remind myself: Yes, those are your bad habits, here they are, now you know about them and after a certain amount of time you let them go.

And to not leave you with nothing I give you something I have written right after I finished The Silmarillion from Tolkien. (My all time favorite book! I can’t remember how many times I read the part around Feanor and his sons over and over again.)
I wrote a lot of poetry and lyrics when I was a teenager. Since then it has been the first time. I just felt like it. The written words may all be sad but it felt really good and somehow refreshing. (Hence the irony) A change of pace from what I usually write.

~

In a cold winters blaze
As a whole
Something was lost
Something was found
Feet buried in snow
Smoke of iron fills the sky
Raven black turned the night
All was lost
All was found
In the clashes of swords
Banners lost in the snow
A red moon arose
As we all walk indocile

Leave a Reply

